Angry Bowels- IBS?

She's just discovered her IBS isn't caused by chocolate!

My toilet and I have become close friends :(.

Closer than I ever thought imaginable.

Last post I looked at The Measure of Success. That was focused on determining whether the surgery had been successful or not and how that determination would be made. I said then that its not as simple as pain/ no pain. Boy, was that ever true?

So I had the pelvic issues I mentioned with the shooting pains and cramping. Then I started to develop some abdominal ones as well. I was moving between diarrhea and constipation and things just would not settle down.

Then came the gas and intense abdominal cramping. As you may imagine the pelvic stuff and this on top didn’t make for a happy camper. I was literally bent over in pain.

I found myself on the toilet trembling, with dark eyes and just trying not to scream. Yet what felt like constipation wasn’t and what may have presented as diarrhea was not necessarily the case either. What on earth was going on with me?

So, the good doctor and I had one of our conversations and he suggested that I use Buscopan. I had used it previous to the op for just two days when I was having abdominal cramping after BMs. This pain though was times worse.

I did as advised and the meds did help tremendously but I found the pain would return depending on what I ate.

Being the good research student that I am I started to look for possible causes. The symptoms I experienced all pointed to Irritable Bowel Syndrome. I was not satisfied with this and dug deeper. I discovered loads of threads, blog posts and research papers about IBS developing after abdominal surgery and laparoscopic pelvic surgery ;( There was also some research stating that IBS symptoms are sometimes confused with bowel endometriosis. Hmmmmm.

WOW!

Maybe, my body is just angry for being invaded and manipulated 🙂

I started reading many of the comments and experiences of the women involved and then I stopped……………it was not very encouraging. Many of them stated that the problems have persisted for years.

I chose to look at how my diet could be modified to help me. I discovered quickly that certain things had to be cut from my diet immediately. Each time I ate the item I found within 1/2 hour the cramps and rumblings would start. I have cut greasy foods, pepper, cheese (didn’t eat much of this anyway…like once every few months), lentils and channa (ate loads of these though) and citrus fruit thus far. Many of the other recommended changes I already had within my diet e.g brown rice only, gluten free, no dairy, minimal animal protein and no fried/ processed foods.

I have also taken to drinking tea………..in Barbados we call any hot beverage tea, regardless of chocolate, cocoa, green tea, black tea…………I have taken to drinking herbal tea everyday. I drank herbal tea before just not often. Well I’ve been drinking it at least 2x a day recently. I have also cut the portions I eat. I now strive towards 5 small vs 3 large meals and take the time to eat in an unhurried setting and manner…………making sure to chew my foods well.

This also means that I cannot purchase any meals but must ensure I prepare and travel with what I am to eat. This is not really an issue, I usually do this most days. I will just have to cut out the once in a blue moon purchases.

These changes have helped significantly! I have little to no IBS like pain once I follow these diet rules well. If I slip up, even a little, in 1/2 hour my body and I start to fight.

So, is this permanent? Lord knows because I don’t. All I can say right now is that I keep on moving forward. Test, adjust and step. I continue to deal with it one day at a time.

 

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

