Embrace the stretch…

a-collection-of-furniture-made-of-stretch-fabric-from-benjamin-hubert_05

Just yesterday I wrote about The Space I’m in….. This was about embracing and accepting where I am on my journey with Pelvic Congestion Syndrome and Endometriosis. It was about dealing with those things I cannot do right now and not stressing.

Today I had a reminder of that….how hilarious it was.

Yesterday I wore a pants at home in the evening for probably an hour and after I had my shower this morning I took the same pants to wear. I proceeded to pull the pants up and attempted to zip it. The zip came about 1/5 of the way up and ran back down. I tried again and the same thing happened. When I looked down I realized that my belly was getting in the way and the pants could not be zipped closed. I started to laugh.

I laughed so hard I had to sit down. It was immediately distressing and hilarious……….most people won’t put those two things together but I did in that moment. In my head it was better to be laughing…….really laughing…………than crying.

I was reminded of one of the best pieces of advice my doctor ever gave me. He said “Lyn, embrace stretch fabric.”

Now I am sure that you have heard of the endo belly and I have written before about PCS causing my belly to swell to the point where I can be mistaken for 5 -6 months pregnant. So combine the two.

I must say when I got the piece of advice I was taken aback but I took it and ran with it. Good thing I did. I slowly started converting my wardrobe to stretch items or to styles that accommodate a big tummy.

 

dsc07049
Faux wrap

I sewed several peplum and empire waist tops and dresses as well as a few faux wrap pieces. I made sure that anyone who ever purchased clothing for me knew that I preferred stretchy stuff.

 

health-fitness-blogs-vitamin-g-0824-empire-waist_vg
Empire waist

I even looked for pants and skirts either with stretch fabric or at least the waist from stretch fabric. Right now I would say probably 90% of my wardrobe has been converted.

35
Peplum

In the whole scheme of things, being frustrated over clothing is one worry I could do without. I had days where zippers threatened to burst and I had to pin between buttons and that was extremely distressing. Embracing the stretch fabric has removed that stress from my life.

At the time it seemed like giving in to the conditions but now I know its more working along with the situation. Its just like converting to flat shoes – but that’s tomorrow’s blog :).

The pants today was a pre – advice item. It reminded me of how much my life has changed but I was also reminded of how much I have grown. A year ago I would have been weeping. Today I just laughed.

Maybe that’s the secret. Some things, when we embrace them and work around and along with them; its the best fight against the diseases we can give.

It says “you can’t bring me down…..I’m flexible like that”.

Embrace the stretch!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

1 thought on “Embrace the stretch…”

Leave a Reply

