Embrace the flat/ or nearly flat…

shoes2016

Yesterday I looked at Embrace the stretch… and that was mainly about the adjustment I had to make in the type of clothing I wore. I promised to look at the changes I made in my shoes.

Let me say that I love shoes. I guess in that way I am a typical woman. I think that any day can be fixed with a sexy pair of shoes…..I’m serious here. There were many days in the past where I was in a bad mood and I just put on a popping pair of shoes and my entire attitude changed. There is just something about how I feel in the shoe. Anyway, enough of that.

I am 5ft 10inches tall. So I really didn’t need to wear heels to begin with. I just loved them from the time I started wearing them around age 12. I would wear heels between 2 and 4 1/2 inches high. To work, church and to any occasion that was not completely casual.

I realized whenever I had a period- before the hysterectomy, or whenever I was in pain- after the hysterectomy, I couldn’t tolerate the heels. I always wore flats of shoes with 1 1/2 inch heels of lower. There was just something about the angle of the heel that made the pelvic pain worse. I think it increased the pressure somehow. I’m not sure.

As things got worse I found myself less and less able to wear the heels for any period of time. I would wear to work my heels and after about 1/2 hour take them off. The same would happen at church. I found that the pain was just too much to bear.

It came to the point about a year ago, around the same time I was adjusting my wardrobe, that I had to stop wearing them all together. Standing alone was painful if I had to do it for more that 20 minutes furthermore in heels.

I was depressed over the shoe situation. Really depressed. One day I took all my heels and looked them over. Those that I could give away I did and the others I threw out. There were numerous pairs of shoes. It was a sad day.

Since then I have built up a store of flats. Nice flats. I have a few shoes that are 1 1/2 inch high but most are flat. Even those with the small heel I can’t tolerate when in pain.

So, another lesson learned. Test and adjust a friend of mine always says.

I have come to accepting that I have to do what is best for me. I have come to accepting that flats look nice also. I have come to deciding that pain will try to define me and bring me down ………………but I won’t let it.

I am stronger and more flexible than I thought.

So what, my clothes and shoes are different………….but you know what? I am still here and that to me is victory!

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

