Pearls of wisdom :(

10419ec563670bc7a4f5c3a936c720be

This week is shaping up to be an epic week. Its absolutely amazing all that has happened and this is just the second day.

I wrote just yesterday about being tired of explaining to people that I am ill regardless of how I look in the post How to look sick………... I really am tired of it. I wonder sometimes how many people really believe me when I say I am in pain. I’ve had enough medical professionals call me crazy so I guess the average person isn’t that far off when they doubt me.

I was talking to an acquaintance this morning and the person asked me what were my plans for the day. I responded that there was not much on my schedule and I was in bed getting a bit of rest because I wasn’t feeling great. The response I got was ” you always in bed, try and get out, conquer the pain“.

As positively as I tried to regard that statement my thought was “what! really!” I really wanted to give a genuinely nice slant to it but it reached me as a negative comment about me and in turn the way I handle being ill.

The word conquer means to get the better of/ overcome/ master/ take control of. Those are the words that came to me in the first instance. How could this person say such a thing. As if it is sooooooo very easy to control the pain and not let it control me.

So what, I am always in bed. No, I don’t love being in bed so often but lying down helps significantly because it takes the pressure of my back and pelvis and the pain is less intense. So, if I can stay in bed and still do work on the computer etc. I will.

This morning though I was just in bed, in pain. I had already started doing laundry and stopped because of the pain. The washer was still running and I fully intended to at least hang the clothing when it stopped, but for the moment I needed to rest.

Conquer also means to surmount/ rise above/ get over. Unfortunately, these more positive meanings did not come initially. In the moment I responded to the individual “if only it was that easy”……. instead of all the other words in my head. This was good though, those other words weren’t reflective of my character.

After I had calmed down and was able to get out of bed again, I decided to look at it positively instead of negatively. I decided to process it, think all my feelings through. See what else was coming to bear on my reaction and look at the statement for what it was…..just a statement; not necessarily intended negatively.

Truth is that it is very easy for me to lash out, if only in thought, at others because of what they say and do or rather how I perceive what they say and do. I have to be so careful with what I say because in the midst of pain and especially extended periods of pain my judgement is skewed.

Pain causes me to be short and sharp with people. Many times this is why I stay alone……for fear of lashing out in anger and frustration at the person in front of me when it is the illness and pain that I want to shout at. I am working on this. Like most other things, awareness is where the change begins……. I am aware.

So, I will not let the pain define me. I will not let it change me. If I inadvertently hurt someone because of it I will apologize but I will try first not to hurt them. Even if the thoughts come, I will keep my mouth shut until I can process them. Some things when said cannot be unsaid.

I will take the advice given this morning. I will conquer the pain. I will rise above it and surmount it. This I will do by continuing to follow my dreams. I will continue to work and study. I will continue to do the best that I can from day to day.

On those days like this morning where I have to rest, I will not view that as the pain conquering me; rather, I will see it for what it is. That is just me doing the best that I can in the moment.

The only time the pain will win is if I give up………….and that is not an option.

I will conquer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

