Surgery on the horizon: bittersweet decision

8083916_orig

I finally had my appointment with the surgeon last weekend. Over the past few months I have been back and forth to my GP, the hospital, OBGYN and finally the surgeon. My last visit with a doctor other than my GP didn’t go very well. I wrote about that in Dear Doctor from yesterday 😦 . That visit was horrible. However, he did give a referral to this surgeon who specializes in Laparoscopic surgery. I really don’t want a large cut. I had that with the hysterectomy and it took sooooooo long to heal. I don’t want it opened again if I can avoid it.

I went to this surgeon and the visit was as far as night from day when compared to the last one. The appointment was at 8:40 a.m. I arrived a few minutes early and was immediately ushered into the nurse’s office for the urine, blood pressure and weight checks. The doctor came and ushered me into his office shortly thereafter.

I spent probably 30 minutes in his office with him. We discussed the referral from the previous doctor and then he put that aside. He was interested and invested in just listening to me tell my story. He took a comprehensive history of all my illnesses and medications, not just the pelvic issue related ones. He took the time to hear and see me. It was the most relaxing conversation I have had with a doctor, outside my regular doctor, in a long time.

We then spoke about the examination he wanted to do and why. He left me in the office to speak with the nurse and then ushered me into the examination room with the ultrasound machine. He took the time then to talk to me and ensure i was ready for the exam and then proceeded to do the pelvic exam. It was very uncomfortable but not painful. As usual it was most painful on the right, also as usual there was nothing “abnormal” about my examination.

After this was the trans-vaginal ultrasound. Again uncomfortable, but not painful. He concluded the examination and left for me to dress. He then returned and ushered me once again into his office where we spoke for just over half hour.

The ultrasound revealed that my left ovary appeared normal in size but for whatever reason he was unable to see the infamous right ovary. Trust me he did look and probe and probe. I actually asked him if something was lost while the exam was being done. It just seemed like he was probing a bit too much. However, the ovary couldn’t be seen.

Food for thought that is. Not sure what there is inside that could be hiding the ovary. Time will tell.

The doctor suggested that I go on a course of treatment with GNRH agonists. These would put me in a state of menopause. If the pain decreased then we would know for sure that the extra pain that I’ve been experiencing is due to Endometriosis. If it worked then I would have to use it indefinitely……..in reality more than 10 years.

The good thing about the visit was that although an OBGYN, he didn’t discount my Pelvic Congestion Syndrome diagnosis. He accepted that it exists and rightfully stated that there is still a lot of unanswered questions as far as PCS diagnosis and treatment is concerned.

He also accepted that surgery would help in determining and hopefully fixing the problem or at least alleviating the pain. I decided on the surgery, mainly because I had done the hormonal treatment before and it had not changed anything.

We put the wheels in motion for the surgery. I did the blood tests, made the appointment to see the anesthetist and sent the quotation to the insurance company. Due to the doctor’s schedule I will not be scheduled until May. I don’t have the date as yet but its better than nothing. I see the doctor in two weeks.

This decision is bittersweet to me. I am happy that there is some progress and we are going ahead. I am afraid though, that this op may change nothing. I am afraid to hope……….yet I can’t give up hope. Its all I have sometimes.

I accept that things may remain the same. That is the risk that I take. I am going in for an Operative Laparoscopy. While I am under, the surgeon will determine what is to be done. If Endometriosis is seen or any indicators of it they will be excised. The adhesions that are suspected, if seen will also be dealt with (this is a catch 22, this op will also potentially lead to adhesions). I also go in with the understanding that depending on what is discovered the op may be converted to open surgery. I’ve no control over any of this.

Yet, I am at peace with my decision. Like all else before, God and I will get through this together. He promised, and I trust His promises explicitly. This will get better, this too shall pass.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

