30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge- Days 29 & 30

healthycoping_noheading

Day 29:  What has helped you cope with the stress of this lifestyle?

This lifestyle is indeed stressful. My biggest help has been my faith in God and His plane for my life. The bible tells me that all his plans are toward my hope and my future and they are good. It tells me that nothing will come my way that He and I together cannot handle and that He is always by my side.

I believe these things with all my heart. My experiences have taught me to trust Him even more because He never fails me and although I may need to wait for my answer, it always comes.

Many times, in the past I was in situations that I could not see a way out of. When the resolution came I did not necessarily agree with what took place. However, in hindsight, those situations were worked out in the best ways possible for me. Therefore, I trust God now and try not to question. History has taught me that He has my best interest at heart.

My faith helps me to cope every second of every day.

 

378867a7600d3a98ada5e815974becd2

Day 30: Starting with your toes and working up to your head, name each part of your body and how your illness has affected it.

I am not sure that each part of my body is affected by these illnesses except when I am in intense pain and it seems as if it is all over. I will just select those areas that I can speak to.

Legs- from hips down to toes.

When the pain goes above 6 on my 1-10 scale; it radiates down my legs. They become numb and weak. At times, it is difficult to walk and at others I am walking but cannot fully feel my legs because of the pain. When the ovaries are hurting, there is also shooting pain down the legs. Movement, hurts; walking hurts.

Pelvis

This is where most my pain is located since both illnesses are pelvic in nature. There’s constant pain. There is never a day where there is not pain in my pelvis, it just varies in intensity. On “good” it’s a dull achiness and pressure; to this is added cramps akin to contractions; sharp, shooting pain, swelling and bloating.

Abdomen

The symptoms here are like the pelvis since they are so close. Many days just the skin on the outside is tender to touch. Depending on the pain level, I become nauseous and upset. I cannot eat or can only eat small amounts. Many days my abdomen swells so much that by afternoon I look 4-5 months pregnant.

 

Back

The pain radiates into my back. I have difficulty sitting for extended periods of time and most times use an orthopaedic back rest to help.

 

These are the main areas. Everywhere else is just generally affected because I am in pain. On the days when it’s horrible it’s as if the pain is everywhere.

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

