30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge- Days 26-28

page23

Day 26: What impact has this had on your friends, partner, family etc.?

Think that I answered this question before earlier in the challenge but:

My Family- Husband and children

This has not been easy for them on any level. My husband has been with me from the beginning through year after year of doctor’s visits, medications, surgeries and has watched me be well and then be at the point where I can hardly walk or function without his help. He has been my rock- quiet and sure. It has been difficult for him I know, many times I think this is not what he signed up for. It seems more “worse” than “better”. Despite it all though, he’s still here and I praise God for him every day. He never complains or gets upset, he just does what needs to be done and we move along.

My children, they are on a roller coaster. Sometimes with mummy happy and up and able to do stuff, go places etc. with them and then sometimes not. They do get frustrated and lash out at times. For the most part they just accept it. In some ways, they are resigned and/ or desensitized to my pain. They have learned to make the best of whatever I can do when I can. They have also become self-reliant and do whatever they can for themselves.

My Friends

I don’t have many of these. I have loads of acquaintances but friends no. The few that I do have are faithful. At times, they too get frustrated because I must cancel at the last minute of just stay home all the time but they are here for me whenever I need them.

 

help26advice

Day 27: What’s the most helpful advice you have had?

The best advice that I have been given is:

“Have your meltdown, cry, scream, fall apart. When you are done, get up and go again, fight again. The world will continue with or without you. So, decide.”

This helped me to realize it was ok to lose it ever so often and that I am in control of what happens after that. Life is hard, yes, it is. I must decide what I want and go after it. Staying down is no use to me and does not help me to progress. Everybody has a struggle; I either fight and continue or stop and die but the world will go on.

 

great-achievements-are-the-results-of-great-expectations-you-will-see-it-happen-only-when-you-believe-it-will-happen

Day 28: Name 5 things you have achieved despite your illness?

Despite this illness I have achieved some of my dreams in mainly my professional life. I have:

  1. Completed a Master’s Degree.
  2. Co-authored and Academic Book.
  3. Started a Business.
  4. Got a second part-time job.
  5. Started this blog.
Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

