30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge- Day 22

0b25d42f697a41f0ad8f44f6e312d328How do you think you have been treated by the medical system? Explain.

My first thought when looking at this question was “oh boy…”

For years I went from doctor to doctor who basically told me that my pain was all in my head. I was attention seeking. I was making it all up. There was no medical basis for what I was saying. The tests came back negative.

That was the language as opposed to “I don’t know what is wrong” or “I have done all that I can for you”.

This language , let me qualify, was not in reference to Endometriosis. I was diagnosed with that at 16. My symptoms and then the diagnostic laparoscopy proved that. The “you really are a crazy woman” came after.

I was going along with the Endometriosis diagnosis and doing all the treatments, hormonal and surgical to no avail. I had the miracle babies, I had the hysterectomy and I was still in pain. The OBGYN basically said after that there was no reason for my pain.

It was quite frustrating.

However, the one medical professional who believed me from the get go is my GP. He never made me think that I was crazy or it was all in my head. He took me at my word and started to search with me. He selected conferences specific to my symptoms to attend and contacted colleagues around the world to get feedback and information. For that I am grateful.

It was through his work that the diagnosis of Pelvic Congestion Syndrome came. Then the referral and embolizations. The first of which gave me 6 blissful, pain free months and the second which proved that I was developing secondary re fluxes- veins that became incompetent after those which were leaky had been fixed.  This is a major part of my present issues – this tendency to develop new leaks. This is the reason embolization has not been effective in my case on a long term basis.

I still get the disbelief even now though. This is mainly from OBGYNs who easily acknowledge the Endometriosis but discount the Pelvic Congestion Syndrome as non-existent or an “exclusion diagnosis”; all this although I have the proof of the 6 months and photos of the leaking veins.

So the medical system has not been the most kind to me. In many ways the doctors still act as though I am lying or it cannot be as bad as I report. After all I smile and go about my business. I say I am in pain and am still able to get through examinations without breaking down. Its a struggle.

I think that some doctors are good at what they do but they should strive to be great. They look at me and see a disease. They need to see a person. Maybe then they will start to treat me and all the others like me differently.

physician

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

