30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge- Catching Up- Days 18-20

75bf0024b9953c2aedeee07fd6762275

18. Do you think you have become a better person through illness? Explain.

Yes, I am definitely a better person as a result of being ill. I was always a generally empathetic person and sought to consider the feelings of others in everything I did; this is probably what guided me to my profession.

However, I have found that illness has given me another level of empathy, a deeper level; one that can only be reached through this type of experience. This has made me a better person, it has also made me a better Psychologist.

'I see a bright future, a transformation: Beauty, wings, elegance...'

19. How do you feel about the future?

I am very optimistic. If I am honest I would admit that sometimes I get down to the point where I can only see directly ahead, the next minute or hour.However, I also see God just setting me up for greater things.

Many plans and dreams that I have had and held for years, in some instances even doubted myself; I see falling into place. God has opened opportunities and caused me to meet people and make associations that are directly needed to fulfill these same dreams. Avenues that I didn’t even know existed have opened before me.

It gives me hope. My future may not be totally pain free or disease free; but I have a future…..and it is bright!

dscn9774_1024x1024

20. Have you met anyone with the same illness? Did it help?

I have met numerous women with Endometriosis but I have not met anyone in person who has Pelvic Congestion Syndrome. I guess this is because it is relatively new and un-researched. I think PCS is also misdiagnosed and under- diagnosed; while Endometriosis, although enigmatic is a more common diagnosis and to some extent better understood.

Meeting these ladies whether in person or online has been encouraging to me. I felt as if I was alone for such a long time. Although it hurts to hear their stories and I cry with them it is comforting to know that others are fighting with me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

