30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge- Day 17

if-only

How would things be different if you weren’t ill?

I thought about this one for a while. Its difficult to imagine life without illness but I will return to the time when things weren’t this bad although I was still ill.

In terms of my family I would do more with them. Most times I have to absent myself from outings and activity because either its too much for me or I know I will not be able to stay as long as they will want to; so instead of ruining their fun midway I just don’t go. So, I would be more present in their lives…………especially the children.

I would run. Just run for the feel of it, for the fun of it. I would exercise regularly. All the aerobics and swimming and running that I no longer do because of pain I would do. For sure I won’t take the ability for granted.

I would have my house under control…………..at least a bit more than the general out of control status it holds. I am not a neat freak or an “every surface constantly sterile” person but I would have it together.

I would generally do more, more with family, more with friends, just more. Its difficult to put into words. I think I would be more fun loving and carefree as opposed to ultra cautious- I won’t be careless- but just enjoy life and activity more.

Professionally, I would have been further in my studies. Since education is expensive and illness is expensive; I would have had more money to spend on the education earlier.

On the subject of money, I would not be in the amount of debt that I am in simply because I would not have the medical bills- doctor visits, medications, tests etc. that I now have on a monthly basis.

On the other hand I would like to think that I would be as empathetic and caring as I am now even if I weren’t ill. I know that a large part of who I am now is as a result of the experiences I have had. I don’t know if I was never ill if I would be the same person I now am.

I can’t say I would be happier because I am happy. I would say I would be less frustrated and less angry at times.

Life would be very different. Chances are though if I had all that and had not been ill, I would take it for granted. If I were to become cured and no longer ill I would treasure each moment because I know what the other side is like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

