30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge- Day 9

15710476 - set of spa treatment symbols

Have you ever tried any alternative therapies? If so, what? Did they work?

I have tried acupuncture and interestingly enough it was the acupuncturist who suggested that I modify my diet.

At that time he suggested that I cut out carbs the week before and the week of my period to reduce congestion and in turn pain. I was to have just fruit for breakfast and any amount of tea I wanted until lunch. Lunch was to be raw salad with fish or chicken (boiled or steamed) and dinner was to be cooked salad with the same.

This did offer some relief when I did it. It helped in terms of the amount of pain I experienced.

At that time I was in university for the first time and could not maintain the diet with the long hours of study.

The actual acupuncture, I don’t think I did for a long enough period of time to really effect any change.

The other aspect of alternative medicine I tried was herbal medicine. I was under that care of a herbal doctor who was treating my pain with herbal tinctures and supplements.

This I was quite optimistic about but I got no more relief from those treatments than I got from traditional medicine.

In this case it was my GP who recommended the herbal doctor.

To date those are the only two alternative therapies that I have tried.

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

