30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge- Day 3

 

lap-001

 

 

How did you get a Diagnosis?

Well as mentioned before I was diagnosed with Endometriosis at age 16. This was after 4 years of periods from hell. I would have huge amounts of blood and extensive pain. It got to the point where I would just stay at home for fear of “accidents” when I had a period …..because of the volume of blood. However, it was also because I was really no use to myself or anyone else at that time.

I went to a Gynaecologist and he suspected that it was endometriosis. he put me on birth control pills for a while to no avail and then suggested I try other treatments but I refused. To my mind it made no sense treating something that was not confirmed.

So at 16 I had a diagnostic laparoscopy which revealed endometriosis.

The Pelvic Congestion Syndrome was a little bit more involved.

I went on to do many types of treatment for Endo, have two children they said I would never have and eventually have a hysterectomy- all in hopes of dealing with it. After the hysterectomy and the problems still persisted my GP and I thought there must be something else that is being missed. We both started to search.

He finally came to me and said that my symptoms are like those described for Venous Insufficiency and in my case Pelvic Congestion Syndrome. he referred me to a visiting Interventional Radiologist who agreed that my symptoms fit the description.

Two days later I decided to undergo the vein embolization procedure.

The procedure revealed that I had re-fluxing veins on both the right

treatment-image-ove-sm-e1426006731550-293x300

and left and I had two coils inserted on the right and one on the left.

So in each case my symptoms pointed towards the illness and the surgical procedure confirmed the diagnosis.

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

