30 Day Chronic Illness Challenge Day 1

30-day-chronic-illness-challenge

Thanks to my sister over at Nurse Notions and her inspiration over the past month I am participating in this 30 day challenge.

Day 1: Introduce Yourself, What Illnesses do you have and how long have you had them?

My name is Lyn, well actually that is my middle name but the one that is used for my online presence, anywhere on the net, even lectures and presentations I have done its Lyn. I am 38 years old, mother of two miracles aged 11 and 8. I am a Counselling Psychologist living in Barbados.

I have mitral valve prolapse, asthma, endometriosis and pelvic congestion syndrome. For the purpose of this activity though I will focus only on the two that impact my life at this stage the most: endometriosis and pelvic congestion syndrome.

I have had Endometriosis for 22 years. Truthfully, I for a long time did not count Endo as an illness I had. I believed it had been dealt with or had been misdiagnosed. Only in the last few months have I had symptoms and ultrasound evidence that speaks to it. However, I was diagnosed when I was 16 year old….that will be discussed as the challenge continues.

Endometriosis is where tissue like that which lines the uterus is found outside of the uterus and at times outside of the pelvic cavity. Just as the lining of the uterus responds to hormonal changes as the menstrual cycle progresses, this tissue responds as well. When menstruation occurs this tissue also bleeds but there is not “escape” for the blood which falls on other organs and creates scar tissue, causes adhesions and as one would imagine intense pain. There is presently no cure and intervention is mainly in the form of analgesics/ pain relief medication. There are several hormonal methods that are used to control the hormone levels within the body and theoretically shrink growths etc. but for me none of it has worked.

I have had Pelvic Congestion Syndrome for probably in my mind about 7 years; this is the first time I believe I would’ve experienced any of the symptoms that are specific to this illness. Pelvic Congestion Syndrome (PCS) is part of a larger category of illnesses known as Chronic Venous Insufficiency. The veins in my pelvis have faulty valves. They do not close as the should and allow blood to flow backward and pool within the vein. Therefore, as you would see persons with huge varicose veins on the legs etc……I have those on the inside of my pelvis. They cause intense pain, heaviness and a dragging ,achy feeling. As a result of this I also have one hemorrhoid and intense lower back pain.

Both spell pain in my dictionary.

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

Leave a Reply

