IV Meds at home…..good/ bad????

stock-image-of-iv-bagjpg-642b0da3d92aedd1

I woke on Wednesday in unbelievable pain. Actually I was in this pain from Tuesday night. The Psychologist in me though refused to accept that it was a s bad as it felt. I literally said to myself ” Lyn, you are upset with the way things went at the hospital. This pain is not that bad. It’s the emotions getting in the way”…………..Right!

Recall I had been ill all weekend……..this was just writing on the wall.

So I accepted that I would have to see my doctor I needed to get some help because my pain meds weren’t working. When he messaged after 5 a.m. I basically said I couldn’t take it any more. Well to my dismay he responded that he was not going to be in office because he had home visits to do. Sigh!

A little later he told me that he could come to the house and set up the IV, do a visit and return to take it down. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.

Well desperate situations……desperate measures.

He arrived with the meds and stuff, asked for a clothes hanger and prepared to set up the IV. Then he said “well I have both IV Tramadol an IV Morphine; which one are we going with today?” Now it may seem strange to a reader that my doctor is asking me this but we talk through everything that is one of the reasons we get along so well. It was about what I thought I could handle and since I was the one in pain I could better gauge the severity.

I went for the morphine.

Problem #1: When I think of Morphine I think “that’s it, there’s nothing else to get now. You’ve been through all the other meds and now you are here. This is not a good place.” I have some real psychological issues to work through with this Morphine thing. Yet in the moment I knew that I had been taking the Tramadol all along and the pain wasn’t responding so there was no real choice.

Problem #2: This was all taking place in my house! All along this journey, I have been going to the doctor’s office every few months to get these IV meds when I hit a hump and returning home. Doctors are seen in office or at the hospital…….NOT AT HOME! So what does this mean? He visits those who can’t get out of their houses at home or those who are in need of palliation and / or bed ridden. Does this somehow place me in those categories?

See Psychological issues…………..need to go to therapy!

Yes I had a struggle for a few beats. Truth is I want my home to be free from all that. I want home to be a place of comfort and solace not a place where I get medical treatment.

However, I just said “girl get a grip. This is what it is right now, deal with it. Don’t attribute anything to the process that isn’t there. The doctor is here to help you and stop you from having to wait another whole day before you can get the meds. That’s all.”

Truth be told that was all. There was nothing more to it. If he had been working out of his office on Wednesday I would’ve gone there.

Still I would rather my home just be my home.

In this fight with chronic illness though we need be careful what we take issue with when it comes to our care. So I know now that if the situation arises again where I have to be treated at home I will deal with it. My care comes first regardless of location.

I can handle it………….home or not at home…………the outcome is greater than the means.

 

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

3 thoughts on “IV Meds at home…..good/ bad????”

  1. I hope you find relief of your pain soon. My only suggestion that since your doctor hooks you up to an IV and leaves is to have someone home with you to monitor your vitals. Morphine is a big respiratory depressant so your vital signs should be monitored closely. I wish you the best and hope that it helps. As a chronic pain patient with no diagnosis I’ve tried to psychoanalyze myself trying to say that the pain is in my head or that it’s not as bad as it seems and thinking of a reason why my brain would manifest my pain. I finally came to the conclusion that it wasn’t in my head, but regardless if it’s psychological or physiological, pain is pain. It’s real no matter the cause. Just the treatment is a little different. I find that often thinking about the cause of my pain and so many theories and why this and why that doesn’t make my pain worse, but often stresses me out more and is never helpful. So while I can’t avoid theorizing (because it’s who I am) I try my best to do stress relieving activities. Sure, it doesn’t help my pain, but it helps my peace of mind. Helps me know that no matter what I know what I’m doing is best for me. Just like what you’re doing is taking care of yourself…which is exactly what you need to be doing. Again, wish you the best! Definitely hard to be the patient sometimes….especially hard to shut your brain off too.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the advice. Will bear it in mind should the situation recur.
      Yes it’s hard to be the patient and for me hard to be in the client’s chair at therapy but it’s necessary.
      We do what we must to take care of self.

      Like

      1. I’m not sure if you’re still working or not, but I feel like being a patient makes me better at my job and I feel like that would be the same case for you as well or anyone in the medical profession. But yes, we do what we have to. Wish you the best.

        Like

Leave a Reply

