Mummy you never……….

one-of-your-hugs-would-be-nice-right-now

“The only physical thing you do is get up and walk from one place to another. You never play with me.”

I had no words to respond to this. My daughter wanted me to go outside and play with her…….catch or something……I said to her…”I can’t right now boo” and that was the response I got.

I have difficulty explaining the extent of the pain I felt. I wanted to cry but couldn’t. She was standing there with tears in her eyes and my crying would just make it worse.

I raised this child to express herself and be honest with me…..that’s all she was doing….trying to express her frustration and hurt over this situation that neither of us could control.

I sat with her and held her and listened as she spoke and as she cried. I was mummy but mummy needed someone to hold her and listen to her.

Today another piece of my heart died……..

Author: mypcslife

I am a Psychologist by profession, wife and mother. Living in the Caribbean island of Barbados.

2 thoughts on “Mummy you never……….”

  1. This made me tear up. I know I feel guilty not being able to hang out with my husband as much as I used to do, but I cannot imagine throwing a child in the mix. One day she will realize how much you were going through. You are doing the best you can, always remember that 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

